News / Applications for EMYA2022 are now open! /

All European museums which are not for profit and have opened or been substantially renewed since January 2017 are eligible to apply. The EMYA Jury is looking for innovations in public quality that are likely to have a significant influence in the national and international museum field.

To apply please check HOW TO APPLY section of our website. 

Closing date: 31 May 2021 Closing date: 31 May 2021 Closing date: 31 May 2021

European Museum of the Year Award

The European Museum of the Year Award is the continent’s oldest and most prestigious museum prize.

Overseen by the European Museum Forum, since 1977 has been dedicated to promoting innovation and excellence in public quality in museum practice, encouraging networking and exchange of ideas and best practices within the sector. EMF/EMYA works within an overall framework of a commitment to citizenship, democracy and human rights, to sustainability, to bridging cultures and social and political borders. EMYA winner for 2019 was Rijksmuseum Boerhaave, Leiden, The Netherlands.

Since 1977 the EMF has worked in partnership with the Council of Europe, which awards the Council of Europe Museum Prize, dedicated to museums which are of the highest quality and celebrate human rights and democracy. Last year's winner was the National Museum of Secret Surveillance “House of Leaves” (Tirana, Albania).

For a full list of previous winners, please see here

The focus of EMYA is on innovation in public quality which is something that can be achieved by museums no matter what their size, location, or collection – museums of every type are encouraged to apply. Over the years, EMYA has evolved from the EMYA and the Council of Europe prize to a more differentiated scheme adding four more awards: The Silletto Prize, the Kenneth Hudson Award, the Portimão Prize for the Most Welcoming Museum and the Meyvaert Museum Prize for Sustainability. The different awards within the EMYA scheme reflect, represent and emphasize different aspects and dimensions of the organisation’s underlying values.

The EMF Annual Assembly and EMYA Ceremony takes place over three days, usually in May the year after application, and is a unique opportunity to get an overview of museum creativity right across Europe and to network with those leading these innovations.

Contact for further information.